BroadSoft Connections 2013 – Day 1

This is my first time at the BroadSoft Connections Conference. This year it is being held at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel.  My company, Datatrend Technologies, is a Sponsor of this conference, which means for me personally, this is the first time in a very long time that I have attended a conference as a”vendor”, and not as a speaker (IBM days). Datatrend has been a sponsor of this event for many years.

Most of today’s activities were not necessarily related to the products or the companies, but instead, was more about getting to see your friends, and to see the San Diego Bay area. There were tours of the Zoo, the USS Midway,  Land and See Tour, and apparently, a very quickly sold out Torrey Pines  Golf Tournament (what do you expect when you bring multiple sales people together?)

As I arrived around noon on Wed, I did not attend any of those activities, but instead, after we got our booth set up, we went to the Networking Pool Party. Not too many geeks in the pool, but, as the other tours returned, many folks ended up chatting in the bars around the pool. I got to meet some of the people from the companies we support, and some of the vendors with whom we do business.

In the evening, there was of course, the Welcome Reception, and then the first night of the Exhibit Floor. Plenty of food, and drinks (wouldn’t be a conference without it, right?)

This was a day of meeting new people, and catching up with old friends. Getting to see friends from all over the country (sometimes even world-wide friends) has become one of my favorite parts of Conferences. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still “geeky to the core”, and I love the Technical sessions, but, there’s actually quite a bit of value in just gathering with the people you’ve worked with in a more casual atmosphere. I guess us geeks have some human qualities after all.

Leave a Reply

